Eisenhower Medallion

The Eisenhower Medallion is the highest award bestowed by
The Honorable Archbishop Desmond M. Tutu was honored with the Eisenhower Medallion at PTPI's Worldwide Conference in Hong Kong (2000).
People to People International. It is presented to an internationally known individual or organization in recognition of their exceptional contribution to world peace and understanding during a period of at least five years. 

Award Details:
  • Nominations may be submitted by members of the Board of Trustees, Council Chairpersons, or Chapter Presidents.
  • The nomination must include a description of how the nominee meets the criteria for this award, along with biographical information about the nominee.
  • Current members of the Board of Trustees are not eligible for consideration.
  • No more than one recipient of the Eisenhower Medallion may be selected in any one calendar year. 
  • Written nominations for the Eisenhower Medallion must be received at PTPI World Headquarters by April 1.
Past Eisenhower Medallion recipients include Nelson Mandela (2010), Maestro Luciano Pavarotti (2004), His Majesty King Hussein I of Jordan (2002), The Honorable Archbishop Desmond M. Tutu (2000), Medecins Sans Frontieres (1992), Mother Teresa (1988), and Neil Armstrong (1969). View the full list of recipients>